On-Line Guide to OECD Intergovernmental Activity
Advanced Search|  SearchorExact Match
View parent(s)   View subsidiary(ies)   Display for print      
Joint OECD/ITF Transport Research Committee
Mr. Richard Thivierge   
United States   
Bureau Members:   
New Zealand   
Czech Republic   
Republic of Korea   
Slovak Republic    
United Kingdom   
United States   
Date of creation:
1st January 2004
31st December 2016

Mandate :   -   Resolution of the Council [C(2003)128/FINAL] adopted at its 1059th session held on 26 June 2003 [C/M(2003)14]

   -   Resolution of the Council [C(2006)172 and CORR1] adopted at its 1147th session held on 20 December 2006 [C/M(2006)21, item 287]

- Resolution of the Council [C(2011)150/FINAL] adopted at its 1254th session held on 13th December 2011 [C/M(2011)20, item 216]










Having regard to the Convention on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development of 14 December 1960 and, in particular, articles 2 b), 5a), 9 and 20 thereof;

Having regard to the Financial Rules of the Organisation;

Having regard to Rule 18 a) iii) of the Rules of Procedure of the Organisation;

Having regard to the Recommendation of the Council of the OEEC on the establishment of a European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT) of 24 July 1953 [C/M (53)22(Final)] and to the Decision of the Council concerning relations between the Organisation and the ECMT of 30 September 1961 [C/M(61)1(Final)];

Recalling that the Council of Ministers of the ECMT (ECMT Council of Ministers) agreed on
24-25 April 2003 “to create a joint ECMT-OECD Transport Research Centre, in which members of the two organisations will have full and equal rights” [

Recalling that the OECD Council adopted a Resolution [C(2003)128/FINAL] on 26 June 2003 establishing the Joint OECD/ECMT Transport Research Centre from 1 January 2004 for a period of three years;

Recalling that the ECMT Council of Ministers decided to create the International Transport Forum (ITF) in May 2006 [CEMT/CM(2006)2/FINAL];

Having regard to the Resolution of the Council concerning the renewal and revision of the mandate of the Joint OECD/ECMT Transport Research Centre of 20 December 2006 [C(2006)172 and CORR1];

Noting that Progress reports and evaluations of the Centre were approved by Transport Ministers of ITF meeting in Moscow in May 2005 [CEMT/CM(2005)8 and CEMT/CM/M(2005)1] and Dublin, in May 2006 [CEMT/CM(2006)9/FINAL];

Noting that a Strategic Review of the ITF, including recommendations concerning the Centre, was adopted by Transport Ministers of the ITF meeting in Leipzig in May 2011 [ITF(2011)2/FINAL];

Having regard to the proposed revision and renewal of the mandate of the Joint Transport Research Centre [C(2011)150];

On the proposal of the Secretary-General,


Article 1

The mandate of the Joint Transport Research Centre of the OECD and the ECMT-ITF (hereafter “ITF”) is hereby continued for a further period of five years from 01/01/2012 to 31/12/2016.

Article 2

The Joint Transport Research Centre (hereafter the “Centre” or “JTRC”) shall promote economic development and contribute to structural improvements of its members through co-operative transport research programmes addressing all modes of transport in their wider economic, social, environmental and institutional context.

Article 3

The Centre shall be open to all OECD and ITF members and to any non-member whose participation has been approved by the governing bodies of the OECD and ITF.

OECD Members shall automatically participate in the Centre, subject to a notification to the contrary to the Secretary-General of the OECD.

Article 4

The Centre will continue to be governed by a “Joint Transport Research Committee” (hereafter “the Committee”) whose members are nominated by the governments of JTRC members.

Article 5

The Committee shall:

a)   establish a programme of work that reflects the interests of JTRC members consistent with a budget dedicated to this transport research programme;

b)   ensure that the programme of work is carried out through contributions to the ITF’s annual summit and co-operative arrangements including research working groups, round tables, seminars, and other working methods that the Committee considers appropriate;

c)   invite international organisations, institutions dealing with matters related to transport, industry and representative associations, as appropriate, to participate in selected aspects of the work of the Centre;

d)   monitor the execution of its programme of work;

e)   report on its activities to the ITF Transport Management Board, and periodically to meetings of Transport Ministers at the ITF’s annual summit;

f)   report on its activities annually to the OECD Council;

g)   perform any other function that the governing bodies of the ITF and OECD may jointly decide.


Article 6

The expenditure arising from the implementation of the work of the Centre shall be financed on an equal basis by the countries participating in the OECD and ITF and shall be charged against the appropriations authorised under Part II of the Budget of the Organisation, integrated into the ITF budget.

Expenditure for programmes can also be financed through voluntary contributions by private and public institutions.

The resources of the Centre shall be used to implement the programme of work established by the Committee.

Decisions on the annual Programme of Work and Budget of the Centre will be taken by the Transport Management Board of the ITF, subject to approval by the OECD Council.

Except as otherwise agreed by the governing bodies of the OECD and ITF, all the Centre staff-related costs including costs linked to the end of appointments shall be borne by the Centre.

Article 7

The Centre is to be served by officials working exclusively on transport research and policy issues. Officials are administratively integrated into the OECD and appointed in accordance with the OECD’s recruitment procedures. Notwithstanding the provisions of Staff Regulation 6 b) applicable to officials, the Secretary-General of the OECD shall be authorised to appoint nationals from any non-OECD country member of the ITF as officials for the Centre.

The Head of the Centre, in charge of the day-to-day management of the Centre, is appointed by a joint decision of the Secretary General of the OECD and the Secretary-General of the ITF.

Unless otherwise decided by the governing bodies of the OECD and ITF, the Secretary General of the OECD and the Secretary-General of the ITF shall be jointly responsible for the administration of the programme of work and the budget of the Centre. The Secretary-General of the ITF exercises operational guidance over the officials of the Centre with regard to the day-to-day implementation of the work programme and budget. In doing so, he/she will ensure the necessary consultations with the OECD Secretariat.

Article 8

The Resolution shall remain in force until 31 December 2016.


[1]Also open to all other ITF members and to the European Commission as observer.
Version Published On :15th January 2013 and Archived on: 22nd July 2015  
< December 2017 >
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
Today: 12/15/2017
   Select    Select Today       Cancel
Default Title
Hide Message Box