On-Line Guide to OECD Intergovernmental Activity
Advanced Search|  SearchorExact Match
View parent(s)   View subsidiary(ies)   Display for print      
Trade Committee
Ms. Benedicte FLEISCHER   
Mr. Dogan BOZDOGAN   
Ms. Andrea DURKIN   
(United States)
Dr. Christian FORWICK   
Mr. Carlos GIMENO   
Mr. Jeremy Green   
Mr. Geoff King   
(New Zealand)
Dr. Frédéric PAYOT   
Mr. Atsushi TAKETANI   
Mr. Michael Williams   
(United Kingdom)
Participation Plan   
Open to all Member countries 
Date of creation:
30th September 1961
31st December 2024
Observers (International Organisations):   
European Free Trade Association (EFTA)   
International Monetary Fund (IMF)   
World Bank   
World Trade Organization (WTO)   

Mandate: Resolution of Council [C(2019)166] adopted at its 1404th session on 11 December 2019




Resolution of the Council [C(2019)166]



Having regard to Articles 1 and 2 of the Convention on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development of 14 December 1960; 

Having regard to the Rules of Procedure of the Organisation;

Having regard to the Revised Resolution of the Council on Partnerships in OECD Bodies [C(2012)100/REV1/FINAL];

Having regard to the Ministerial Resolution of 23 July 1960 [OECD(60)9(Final)] and to paragraph 16 of the Report of the Preparatory Committee concerning the creation of a Trade Committee, whose mandate was last revised in 2015 [C(2015)86];

Having regard to the proposal to renew the mandate of the Trade Committee [C(2019)166];

Considering that international trade is essential for growth and sustainable economic development;


A.    The Trade Committee (hereafter the “Committee”) is renewed with the following mandate:


I.   Objectives

1.   The overarching objective of the Committee is to help countries benefit fully from trading opportunities and adjust to changing trade patterns by providing a forum for international co-operation, dialogue and policy analysis, as encompassed in Article 1 of the OECD Convention.

2.   The mid-level objectives of the Committee are to:

a)   Encourage frank and open dialogue among OECD Members and undertake and disseminate rigorous, objective analysis of trade policy, in order to:

i)increase understanding of evolving trade policy issues, including on controversial subjects;

ii)build support for liberalised trade in goods and services as a key driver of growth within a strengthened multilateral, rules-based trading system and improve understanding of how bilateral, plurilateral and regional agreements can help advance that goal;

iii)contribute objective information and analysis in support of multilateral trade negotiations to advance the on-going and future agenda of the World Trade Organization (WTO);

iv)facilitate the promotion of coherence between trade policy and other related domestic and international policies.

b)   Support the work on establishing common guiding principles and exchange of information in respect of Members’ official export credit systems.

c)   Improve understanding of open trade and markets as an important driver of growth by communicating and disseminating, as appropriate, the results of the Committee’s work to the relevant stakeholders.

II.   Co-operation arrangements

3.   The Committee shall:

a)   Collaborate closely with other relevant bodies of the OECD on cross-cutting issues related to trade, including on investment, competition, environment, development and agriculture.

b)    Engage Partners in the analytical work and policy dialogue of the Committee as appropriate in accordance with the Committee’s Global Relations Strategy and the outreach priorities agreed OECD-wide.

c)   Consult and share information, as appropriate, with the Business and Industry Advisory Committee (BIAC) and the Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC), as well as the civil society and academia.

d)   Co-operate with other international organisations, such as the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund and others as determined by the needs of the Committee’s work and its Global Relations Strategy.

B.    The mandate of the Trade Committee shall remain in force until 31 December 2024.


Last published on: 4th January 2024  
< April 2024 >
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
Today: 04/21/2024
   Select    Select Today       Cancel
Please wait
Default Title
Hide Message Box